Bands Person of the Year Award

Each year WABA will acknowledge and celebrate the achievements and contributions of a member of an affiliated band and award that person as the WABA Bands person of the year.

The awardee will have made a significant contribution to the success of their band through positive leadership, a love and knowledge of band music and the banding movement and promotion of good fellowship amongst bands persons.

Nomination Guidelines

Selection Criteria

In choosing the recipients of the WABA BANDSPERSON OF THE YEAR Award, regard is given to the nominee's achievements in the year immediately prior to the receipt of the award, as well as their past achievements and ongoing contribution to their own Band and the Banding community.

The selection criteria are:

  • A nominee should satisfy three or more of the following criteria;
  • An attendance record of at least 80% for their Band rehearsals and engagements over the past two years
  • Positive contribution to their Band’s organisation and/or administration
  • Consistent and positive interest at Band rehearsals and engagements
  • A good ambassador for their Band and the Band movement in their community

Eligibility Criteria

The award is open to any financial member of a band that is affiliated with WABA in the current band year.

The member must be nominated by their band committee, and they must be satisfied that their nominee has complied with the above criteria and the Band’s and WABA's constitutions in order to maintain the integrity of the award.

Selection Panel

The final Selection Panel will be the WABA Executive, following discussion with the WABA Board. 

The Award

The winner of the award will receive a certificate and a perpetual award with name inscribed, retained for one year, together with a personal trophy to keep.

Honour Roll

 Year Name Band
2024 Sondra Skilton City of Victoria Park Brass
2023 Don Steel City of Perth Band
2022 Annette De Hoog Leeming Area Community Band
2021 Rosalyn Healy Bunbury City Band
2020 Bob Mowbray Melville AGA Brass
2019 Nicky Hair

Busselton Brass

2018 Ted Tait

WAFES Concert Band

2017 Mike Willett


2016 Tony Schraven

Mandurah Concert Band

2015 Don Cook

Armadale City Concert Band

2014 Laurie O'Connell

Bunbury City Band

2013 Sherril Ball

Goldfields Brass Band

2012 Dianne Guthrie

Busselton Brass

2011 John Bentley

City of Perth Bands

2010 John Piper

Busselton Shire Brass


  • 2024 Sondra Skilton

  • 2023 Don Steel

  • 2022 Annette De Hoog

  • 2021 Rosalyn Healy

  • 2019 Nicky Hair

  • 2018 Ted Tait

  • 2017 Mike Willett

  • 2016 Tony Schraven

  • 2015 Don Cook

  • 2012 Diane Guthrie

  • 2010 John Piper